Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Access to Information and Privacy

The Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act came into effect on July 1, 1983.  The Acts provide Canadian citizens, permanent residents or any person (or entity) present in Canada with the legal right to obtain information, in any form, that is under the control of a government institution.

The Access to Information Act gives individuals a right to access records under the control of a federal government institution. The main priciples of this Act are:  government information should be available to the public; exemptions to this right should be limited and specific; and decisions on disclosure of information should be reviewed independently of government.

The Privacy Act protects the privacy of individuals with respect to personal information about them held by a government institution and provides individuals with a right to access and to request correction to this information. In accordance with section 7 of the Privacy Act, personal information can only be used in accordance with the purpose for which the information was collected or for a use consistent with that purpose. Information protected by the Privacy Act can only be disclosed with the consent of the person to whom it relates or in accordance with the exception terms of subsection 8(2) of the Privacy Act.

Western Economic Diversification Canada (WD) is fully committed to both the spirit and intent of the Access to Information Act to ensure openness and transparency within the Department, and the spirit and intent of the Privacy Act, which is based on the principles of open government and to ensure the privacy of individuals with respect to their personal information held by the Department is protected.

At WD, the powers, duties and functions of the Minister have been delegated to the Access to Information and Privacy (ATIP) Coordinator and Deputy ATIP Coordinator.

All written requests made under the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act should be as specific as possible to enable an effective search and to reduce the need to seek clarification from the requester. Further explanation can be found by visiting the How to make a request sections.

WD will treat all requests in accordance with the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act, make every reasonable effort to assist the applicant, respond accurately, completely and in a timely manner, and only officials with a need to know will be involved in processing the request. Confidentiality will be maintained throughout the entire process.

Timeframe for responding to Access or Privacy Requests

The legislated timeframe for responding to Access to Information or Privacy requests is 30 calendar days.  WD is committed to acknowledging the receipt of all requests and providing the relevant records, as well as advising applicants if an extension(s) for consultations are required, within this 30 day time period. 

The Access to Information Act permits an institution to extend the time limit to respond to a request beyond the 30 calendar days if:

  • the request is for a large number of records or necessitates a search through a large number of records, and meeting the original time limit would unreasonably interfere with the operations of the institution;
  • external consultations are necessary to comply with the request that cannot reasonably be completed within the original time limit; or
  • notice of the request is given to a third party to advise of the institution’s intention to disclose information pertaining to them pursuant to subsection 27(1) of the Act.

The Privacy Act permits an institution to extend the time limit to respond to a request for a maximum of 30 calendar days beyond the initial 30 days if:

  • the original time limit would unreasonably interfere with the operations of the institution; or
  • consultations are necessary and cannot reasonably be expected to be completed within the original time restriction.

Who can make a request under the Access to Information Act?

Any individual or corporation present in Canada can make a request under the Access to Information Act. Canadian citizens and permanent residents also have the right to make a request under the Access to Information Act from outside Canada, however proof that the requestor is a Canadian citizen or permanent resident must be provided. An applicant who is not a Canadian citizen or a permanent resident must be physically in Canada both at the time that the request is filed and at the time access is given.

Requests made pursuant to the Access to Information Act must include a $5.00 application fee. It should be noted that section 11 of the Act permits the WD to charge additional fees for search and preparation time in accordance with the Access to Information Regulations, as necessary.

Who can make a request under the Privacy Act?

Any individual present in Canada can make a request under the Privacy Act for information about themselves. Canadian citizens and permanent residents also have the right to make a request under the Privacy Act from outside Canada, however proof that the requestor is a Canadian citizen or permanent resident must be provided. An individual who is not a Canadian citizen or a permanent resident must be physically in Canada both at the time that the request is filed and at the time access is given.

Where the rights of an applicant under the Act are exercised by a representative, the applicant must provide verifiable, written authorization for the representative to act on their behalf.

There are no fees for requesting information under the Privacy Act.

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Accès à l’information et protection des renseignements personnels

Introduction

La Loi sur l'accès à l'information et la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels sont en trées en vigueur le 1er juillet 1983. Ces lois accordent aux citoyens canadiens, aux résidents permanents et à toute personne (ou entité) se trouvant au Canada le droit d'obtenir des renseignements, sous quelque forme que ce soit, qui relèvent d'une institution fédérale.

La Loi sur l'accès à l'information (LAI) confère aux particuliers un droit d'accès aux documents détenus par une institution fédérale. Cette loi repose sur les principes clés suivants : le public a le droit d'avoir accès aux renseignements gouvernementaux, les exceptions à ce droit doivent être limitées et précises, et la décision de divulguer des renseignements doit être examinée par une entité indépendante du gouvernement.

La Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels (LPRP) protège les renseignements personnels des particuliers détenus par une institution fédérale et accorde aux particuliers un droit d'accéder et de demander la correction de cette information. Selon l'article 7 de cette loi, les renseignements personnels ne peuvent servir qu'aux fins auxquelles ils ont été recueillis ou pour un usage compatible avec ces fins. Les renseignements protégés par la LPRP ne peuvent être diffusés sans le consentement de la personne concernée, à moins que ne s'applique une exception énoncée au paragraphe 8(2) de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada (DEO) est déterminé à respecter l’esprit et l’objectif de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information pour garantir la transparence et l’ouverture d’esprit au sein du Ministère. Il s’engage également à respecter l’esprit et l’intention de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, qui est basée sur les principes d’un gouvernement ouvert et assure la protection de la vie privée des individus en ce qui a trait aux renseignements personnels détenus par le Ministère.

À DEO, le pouvoir, les obligations et les fonctions du ministre ont été délégués au coordonateur et au coordonateur adjoint de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels (AIPRP).

Toute demande écrite faite en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information ou de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels doit être aussi précise que possible, pour permettre une recherche efficace et pour éviter que des éclaircissements doivent être demandés à l'auteur de la demande. Pour de plus amples informations, cliquez sur les liens « Comment faire une demande».

DEO traitera toutes les demandes conformément aux exigences de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, et fera tous les efforts possibles pour aider le demandeur et répondre de façon précise, complète et en temps requis. Seuls les représentants officiels qui ont besoin de connaître le cas seront impliqués dans le processus de la demande. La confidentialité sera assurée tout au long du processus.

Délai de réponse aux demandes d'accès à l'information et de communication de renseignements personnels

Le délai prescrit par la loi pour répondre aux demandes d'accès à l'information et de communication de renseignements personnels est de 30 jours civils. DEO s’engage à accuser réception de toutes les demandes et à fournir les dossiers pertinents, ainsi qu’à avertir les demandeurs si une ou des prorogation(s) sont requises pour effectuer des consultations, au cours de cette période de 30 jours.

La Loi sur l'accès à l'information permet à une institution fédérale de proroger le délai au-delà de 30 jours dans les cas suivants :

  • la demande vise un nombre important de documents ou nécessite des recherches exhaustives, et l'observation du délai initial entraverait de façon sérieuse le fonctionnement de l'institution;
  • il est nécessaire de mener des consultations extérieures, et l'observation du délai initial s'avérerait impossible;
  • il est nécessaire d'aviser un tiers que l’institution a l’intention de divulguer des renseignements le concernant conformément à l’article 27(1) de la Loi.

La Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels permet à une institution de prolonger d'au plus 30 jours civils le délai initial de 30 jours qui est prévu par la loi pour donner suite à une demande de communication de renseignements si :

  • l'observation du délai initial entraverait de façon sérieuse le fonctionnement de l'institution;
  • il est nécessaire de mener des consultations, et celles-ci rendraient pratiquement impossible l'observation du délai initial.

Qui peut faire une demande en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information?

Toute personne ou société se trouvant au Canada peut faire une demande en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. Les citoyens canadiens et les résidents permanents peuvent également présenter une demande de l’extérieur du pays, mais ils doivent prouver que le demandeur est un citoyen canadien ou un résident permanent. Un demandeur qui n'a ni la citoyenneté canadienne ni le statut de résident permanent doit être effectivement présent au Canada lors de la présentation de la demande et lorsque l’accès est donné.

Chaque demande présentée conformément à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information doit être accompagnée de frais de communication de 5 dollars. Il convient de noter que l'article 11 de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information permet à DEO d'exiger, au besoin, des frais supplémentaires pour le temps consacré à la recherche et à la préparation de documents, conformément au Reglement sur l'accès à l'information.

Qui peut faire une demande en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels?

Toute personne se trouvant au Canada peut faire une demande en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels pour obtenir des renseignements la concernant. Les citoyens canadiens et les résidents permanents peuvent aussi faire une demande de l'extérieur du pays, mais ils doivent prouver que le demandeur est un citoyen canadien ou un résident permanent. Une personne qui n'a ni la citoyenneté canadienne ni le statut de résident permanent doit être effectivement présente au Canada lors de la présentation de la demande et lorsque l’accès est donné.

Dans un cas où le droit d’un demandeur en vertu de la Loi est exercé par un représentant, le demandeur doit fournir une autorisation écrite vérifiable pour que le représentant agisse en son nom.

Il n'y a pas de frais à payer pour faire une demande de communication de renseignements en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.