Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Investments in the West

Western Economic Diversification Canada (WD) was established in 1987 to help broaden the economic base of the four western provinces – Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba and Saskatchewan. Under the Western Economic Diversification Act, 1988, the department is mandated to “promote the development and diversification of the economy of Western Canada and to advance the interests of Western Canada in national economic policy, program and project development and implementation.

To achieve this mandate, we support initiatives that contribute to the following project activities.

  • Strong small-and medium-sized businesses in Western Canada with improved capacity to remain competitive in the global marketplace (Business Development);

  • A stronger-knowledge based economy (Innovation)

  • Communities with increased economic opportunities and capacity to respond to challenges, as well as the necessary investment in public infrastructure (Community Economic Development); and

These programs and services are supported by WD's Policy, Advocacy and Coordination activities.