Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

News Release Archives

Harper Government Invests in Improvements to Edmonton’s Community Infrastructure

April 26, 2013
Edmonton, Alberta

Today, the Honourable Laurie Hawn, Member of Parliament for Edmonton Centre, on behalf of the Honourable Lynne Yelich, Minister of State for Western Economic Diversification, announced support for the Jasper Park Community Centre under the Harper Government’s Community Infrastructure Improvement Fund (CIIF).

Our Government is pleased to support infrastructure projects across the country like the Jasper Park Community Centre,” said MP Hawn. “The Community Infrastructure Improvement Fund will benefit Canadian families and communities immediately, helping to support job creation, boosting economic activity, as well as creating safe and accessible community infrastructure facilities for years to come.”

The Harper Government’s investment of $94,500 will support upgrades to the Jasper Park Community Centre, including the installation of a new elevator and renovations to the washrooms. These improvements will ensure that the facility is safely accessible for all members of the community.

"We appreciate how the Federal Government is supporting infrastructure needs with the installation of a handicapped lift in our Community Facility. Access to all areas of community facilities is very important for everyone. This kind of support ensures we can continuously improve our facilities," said Don Kuchelyma, President of Jasper Park Community League in Edmonton.

In Economic Action Plan 2012, the Harper Government announced further support to help communities across the country modernize their infrastructure. Our Government committed $150 million over two years for the Fund. The Fund supports projects that look to improve existing community infrastructure accessible for use by the public, such as community centres, recreational buildings, local arenas, cultural and other community facilities.

Since 2006, the Harper Government, through WD, has invested in job-creating small- and medium-sized businesses, aerospace, marine and defence industries, and supported innovative entrepreneurs in pursuing emerging markets. By continuing to promote new economic opportunities, WD is helping to create jobs, economic growth, and long-term prosperity.

For more information, contact:

Donna Kinley
Regional Communications Manager
Western Economic Diversification Canada
Telephone: 780-495-6892
Email: Donna.Kinley@wd.gc.ca

Don Kuchelyma
President
Jasper Park Community League
Telephone: 780-484-8749
Email: wd_kuch@hotmail.com

WD Toll-Free Number:1-888-338-WEST (9378)
Teletypewriter (TTY): 1-877-303-3388
WD Website: www.wd-deo.gc.ca.
Subscribe to our news updates and keep up-to-date on the latest from WD. Follow us on Twitter at @WD_Canada

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Communiqués Archives

Le gouvernement Harper investit dans l’amélioration de l’infrastructure communautaire d’Edmonton

26 avril 2013
Edmonton (Alberta)

Aujourd’hui, l’honorable Laurie Hawn, député fédéral d’Edmonton-Centre, au nom de l’honorable Lynne Yelich, ministre d’État chargée de la Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest canadien, a annoncé un appui pour le Jasper Park Community Centre dans le cadre du Fonds d’amélioration de l’infrastructure communautaire (FAIC) du gouvernement Harper.

« Notre gouvernement est heureux de soutenir des projets d’infrastructures dans l’ensemble du pays, comme celui du Jasper Park Community Centre, a déclaré le député Hawn. Le FAIC aura des retombées immédiates sur les familles et les collectivités canadiennes en contribuant à la création d’emplois, en stimulant l’activité économique et en permettant la mise sur pied d’installations communautaires sécuritaires et facilement accessibles pour de nombreuses années à venir. »

L’investissement de 94 500 dollars du gouvernement Harper permettra de réaliser des travaux d’amélioration dans le centre communautaire, dont l’installation d’un nouvel ascenseur et la rénovation des toilettes. Ces améliorations garantiront un accès sécuritaire à l’ensemble des installations pour tous les membres de la collectivité.

« Nous sommes reconnaissants au gouvernement fédéral de nous aider à répondre à nos besoins en matière d’infrastructure en facilitant l’installation d’un ascenseur pour handicapés dans notre centre communautaire. Il est important que chaque personne ait facilement accès à tous les locaux des installations communautaires. Grâce à ce type d’appui, nous pouvons continuellement améliorer nos installations, a expliqué Don Kuchelyma, président de la Jasper Park Community League d’Edmonton. »

Dans le cadre du Plan d’action économique de 2012, le gouvernement Harper a annoncé un soutien supplémentaire pour aider les communautés de partout au Canada à moderniser leur infrastructure. Notre gouvernement a engagé 150 millions de dollars sur deux ans pour le FAIC, qui a comme objectif de soutenir des projets visant à améliorer l’infrastructure communautaire existante accessible au public, comme les centres communautaires, les bâtiments récréatifs, les arénas locaux et les centres culturels ou d’autres installations communautaires.

Depuis 2006, le gouvernement Harper, par le biais de DEO, a investi dans les petites et moyennes entreprises qui créent des emplois et les industries de l’aérospatiale, de la marine et de la défense, et appuyé les entrepreneurs novateurs dans les marchés émergents. En faisant la promotion continue des nouvelles possibilités économiques, DEO stimule la création d’emplois, la croissance économique et la prospérité à long terme.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, communiquez avec :

Donna Kinley
Gestionnaire régionale, Communications
Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada
Téléphone : 780-495-6892
Courriel : Donna.Kinley@deo.gc.ca

Don Kuchelyma
Président
Jasper Park Community League
Téléphone : 780-484-8749
Courriel : wd_kuch@hotmail.com

No sans frais de DEO : 1-888-338-9378
Téléimprimeur (ATS): 1-877-303-3388
Site Web DEO: www.wd-deo.gc.ca.
Inscrivez-vous pour recevoir nos bulletins de nouvelles et vous tenir au courant des dernières activités de DEO. Suivez-nous sur Twitter à @DEO_Canada.