Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

News Release Archives

Harper Government Invests in Improvements to Frontier's Community Infrastructure

April 08, 2013
Frontier, Saskatchewan

Today, David Anderson, Member of Parliament for Cypress Hills—Grasslands, on behalf of the Honourable Lynne Yelich, Minister of State for Western Economic Diversification, announced support for Frontier's arena under the Harper Government's Community Infrastructure Improvement Fund (CIIF).

"Our Government is committed to creating jobs, growth and long-term prosperity in our communities across Canada," said MP Anderson. "By making these investments in local infrastructure, we are helping boost economic activity and maintain a high quality of life for Canadians."

The Harper Government's investment of $41,640 will assist with upgrades to the arena, including the replacement of the arena's existing chiller and the doors at the front entrance. The Village of Frontier will also repair the sidewalk leading into the arena. These renovations will improve energy efficiency and increase the safety of the facility.

"Thank you to the federal government for continuing to invest in our community and its minor sports," said Connie Korsberg, Frontier Mayor. "These upgrades are an investment in helping to maintain a high quality of life for residents of our community."

In Economic Action Plan 2012, the Harper Government announced further support to help communities across the country modernize their infrastructure. Our Government committed $150 million over two years for the Fund. The Fund supports projects that look to improve existing community infrastructure accessible for use by the public, such as community centres, recreational buildings, local arenas, cultural and other community facilities.

Since 2006, the Harper Government, through WD, has invested in job-creating small- and medium-sized businesses, aerospace, marine and defence industries, and supported innovative entrepreneurs in pursuing emerging markets. By continuing to promote new economic opportunities, WD is helping to create jobs, economic growth, and long-term prosperity.

For more information, contact:

Joanne Mysak
Communications Manager
Western Economic Diversification Canada
Telephone: 306-975-5942
Email: joanne.mysak@wd.gc.ca

Barbara Webber
Village of Frontier
Telephone: 306-296-2250
Email: village.frontier@sasktel.net

WD Toll-Free Number:1-888-338-WEST (9378)
Teletypewriter (TTY): 1-877-303-3388
WD Website: www.wd-deo.gc.ca.
Subscribe to our news updates and keep up-to-date on the latest from WD. Follow us on Twitter at @WD_Canada

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Communiqués Archives

Le gouvernement Harper investit dans l'amélioration de l'infrastructure communautaire de Frontier

8 avril 2013
Frontier (Saskatchewan)

Aujourd'hui, David Anderson, député fédéral de Cypress Hills—Grasslands, au nom de l'honorable Lynne Yelich, ministre d'État chargée de la Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest canadien, a annoncé un soutien à l'aréna de Frontier dans le cadre du Fonds d'amélioration de l'infrastructure communautaire (FAIC) du gouvernement Harper.

« Notre gouvernement s'est engagé à créer des emplois, à stimuler la croissance et à soutenir la prospérité à long terme dans les collectivités de l'ensemble du Canada, a déclaré le député Anderson. En investissant dans l'infrastructure locale, nous contribuons à la relance de l'activité économique et préservons la haute qualité de vie de la population canadienne. »

L'investissement de 41 640 dollars du gouvernement Harper soutiendra divers travaux de rénovation à l'aréna, dont le remplacement du refroidisseur ainsi que des portes de l'entrée principale. La municipalité de Frontier procédera de plus à la réfection du trottoir menant à l'aréna. Ces travaux amélioreront l'efficacité énergétique et la sécurité des installations.

« Merci au gouvernement fédéral, qui continue à investir dans notre collectivité et dans ses sports mineurs, a souligné Connie Korsberg, mairesse de Frontier. Ces rénovations constituent un investissement dans l'excellente qualité de vie des résidents de notre collectivité. »

Dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique de 2012, le gouvernement Harper a annoncé un soutien supplémentaire pour aider les communautés de partout au Canada à moderniser leur infrastructure. Notre gouvernement a engagé 150 millions de dollars sur deux ans pour le FAIC, qui a comme objectif de soutenir des projets visant à améliorer l'infrastructure communautaire existante accessible au public, comme les centres communautaires, les bâtiments récréatifs, les arénas locaux et les centres culturels ou d'autres installations communautaires.

Depuis 2006, le gouvernement Harper, par le biais de DEO, a investi dans les petites et moyennes entreprises qui créent des emplois et les industries de l'aérospatiale, de la marine et de la défense, et appuyé les entrepreneurs novateurs dans les marchés émergents. En faisant la promotion continue des nouvelles possibilités économiques, DEO stimule la création d'emplois, la croissance économique et la prospérité à long terme.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, communiquez avec :

Joanne Mysak
Gestionnaire, Communications
Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Téléphone : 306-975-5942
Courriel : joanne.mysak@wd.gc.ca

Barbara Webber
Administratrice
Municipalité de Frontier
Téléphone : 306-296-2250
Courriel : village.frontier@sasktel.net

No sans frais de DEO : 1-888-338-9378
Téléimprimeur (ATS): 1-877-303-3388
Site Web DEO: www.wd-deo.gc.ca.
Inscrivez-vous pour recevoir nos bulletins de nouvelles et vous tenir au courant des dernières activités de DEO. Suivez-nous sur Twitter à @DEO_Canada.