Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

News Release Archives

Harper Government Invests in Improvements to Winnipeg’s Community Infrastructure (1b)

March 13, 2013
Winnipeg, Manitoba

Today, Joyce Bateman, Member of Parliament for Winnipeg South Centre, on behalf of the Honourable Lynne Yelich, Minister of State for Western Economic Diversification, announced support for the Fort Garry Lions Football Club under the Harper Government’s Community Infrastructure Improvement Fund (CIIF).

The Fort Garry Lions Football Club has a long history in Fort Garry and southern Winnipeg,” said MP Bateman. “I am proud that our Government’s investment will help increase use of the club’s football fields and improve safety for players while supporting jobs, growth and long-term prosperity for Winnipeg.

The Harper Government’s investment of $99,520 will help improve field lighting for the Fort Garry Lions Football Club. Under the project, 36 new lights will be installed at the club’s main football field, while the existing lights will be redirected to the unlit practice field. The investment will make evening play possible while increasing the safety and usage of both fields.

On behalf of the Fort Garry Lions Football Club, I would like to thank Western Economic Diversification for supporting our project,” said Wes Mueller, Fort Garry Lions Club President. “The Fort Garry Lions have served our community since 1957 and are building on our rich history by creating a “Football Centre of Excellence” in South Winnipeg. The addition of full lighting will help us address an immediate need, enhancing player safety and increasing the number of practices and games on our field - making the game of football even more accessible to young people in our community.

In Economic Action Plan 2012, the Harper Government announced further support to help communities across the country modernize their infrastructure. Our Government committed $150 million over two years for the Fund. The Fund supports projects that look to improve existing community infrastructure accessible for use by the public, such as community centres, recreational buildings, local arenas, cultural and other community facilities.

Since 2006, the Harper Government, through WD, has invested in job-creating, small- and medium-sized businesses, aerospace, marine and defence industries, and supported innovative entrepreneurs in pursuing emerging markets. By continuing to promote new economic opportunities, WD is helping to create jobs, economic growth, and long-term prosperity.

For more information, contact:

Gabriela Klimes
Communications, Winnipeg
Western Economic Diversification Canada
Telephone: 204-983-6243

Mike Sosiak
Director, Resource Development
Fort Garry Lions Football Club
Telephone: 204-945-1972

WD Toll-Free Number:1-888-338-WEST (9378)
Teletypewriter (TTY): 1-877-303-3388
WD Website: www.wd-deo.gc.ca.
Subscribe to our news updates and keep up-to-date on the latest from WD. Follow us on Twitter at @WD_Canada

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Communiqués Archives

Le gouvernement Harper investit dans l’amélioration de l’infrastructure communautaire de Winnipeg (1b)

13 mars 2013
Winnipeg (Manitoba)

Aujourd’hui, Joyce Bateman, députée fédérale de Winnipeg-Centre-Sud, au nom de l’honorable Lynne Yelich, ministre d’État chargée de la Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest canadien, a annoncé un soutien au Fort Garry Lions Football Club dans le cadre du Fonds d’amélioration de l’infrastructure communautaire (FAIC) du gouvernement Harper.

« Le Fort Garry Lions Football Club fait partie de l’histoire de Fort Garry et de la partie sud de Winnipeg, a déclaré la députée Bateman. Je suis fière de cet investissement de notre gouvernement, qui permettra d’accroître l’utilisation des terrains de football du Club et d’améliorer la sécurité des joueurs, tout en soutenant la création d’emplois, la croissance et la prospérité à long terme à Winnipeg. »

L’investissement de 99 520 dollars du gouvernement Harper permettra d’améliorer l’éclairage aux terrains du Fort Garry Lions Football Club. Le projet prévoit l’installation de 36 nouveaux lampadaires au terrain de football principal, alors que les lampadaires existants seront réinstallés dans le terrain de pratique, actuellement non éclairé. Cet investissement permettra la tenue de parties en soirée, en plus d’améliorer la sécurité et d’accroître l’utilisation des deux terrains.

« Au nom du Fort Garry Lions Football Club, j’aimerais remercier Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest pour son soutien à notre projet, a indiqué Wes Mueller, président du Club. Les Lions de Fort Garry font partie de notre collectivité depuis 1957 et s’appuient sur notre riche histoire pour créer un “centre d’excellence en football ” à Winnipeg-Sud. L’installation d’un système d’éclairage complet vient combler un besoin existant. Cela améliorera la sécurité des joueurs et augmentera le nombre de pratiques et de parties, rendant le football encore plus accessible aux jeunes de notre collectivité. »

Dans le cadre du Plan d’action économique de 2012, le gouvernement Harper a annoncé un soutien supplémentaire pour aider les communautés de partout au Canada à moderniser leur infrastructure. Notre gouvernement a engagé 150 millions de dollars sur deux ans pour le FAIC, qui a comme objectif de soutenir des projets visant à améliorer l’infrastructure communautaire existante accessible au public, comme les centres communautaires, les bâtiments récréatifs, les arénas locaux et les centres culturels ou d’autres installations communautaires.

Depuis 2006, le gouvernement Harper, par le biais de DEO, a investi dans les petites et moyennes entreprises qui créent des emplois et les industries de l’aérospatiale, de la marine et de la défense, et appuyé les entrepreneurs novateurs dans les marchés émergents. En faisant la promotion continue des nouvelles possibilités économiques, DEO stimule la création d’emplois, la croissance économique et la prospérité à long terme.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, communiquez avec :

Gabriela Klimes
Communications, Winnipeg
Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada
Téléphone : 204-983-6243

Mike Sosiak
Directeur, Développement des ressources
Fort Garry Lions Football Club
Téléphone : 204-945-1972

No sans frais de DEO : 1-888-338-9378
Téléimprimeur (ATS): 1-877-303-3388
Site Web DEO: www.wd-deo.gc.ca.
Inscrivez-vous pour recevoir nos bulletins de nouvelles et vous tenir au courant des dernières activités de DEO. Suivez-nous sur Twitter à @DEO_Canada.