Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

News Release Archives

Harper Government Invests in Improvements to Morinville’s Community Infrastructure

March 12, 2013
Morinville, Alberta

Today, Brian Storseth, Member of Parliament for Westlock—St. Paul, on behalf of the Honourable Lynne Yelich, Minister of State for Western Economic Diversification, announced support for the Paroisse St. Jean Baptiste Parish under the Harper Government's Community Infrastructure Improvement Fund (CIIF).

"The Paroisse St. Jean Baptiste Parish has been a community treasure since 1907 and it continues to attract visitors to Morinville while serving as an important focal for the local community," said MP Storseth. "Our Government's investment in the preservation of this Church, through the Community Infrastructure Improvement Fund, will help to create jobs, growth, and long-term prosperity."

The Harper Government's investment of $250,000 supports the rehabilitation of the Paroisse St. Jean Baptiste Parish. Enhancements to the corner towers, roof and exterior brickwork will help ensure this historical landmark remains a lasting legacy in the Town of Morinville for decades to come.

"We are very thankful for this support from the Federal Government," said Simonne Chevalier, Member of the Parish Finance Committee. "Without this assistance, we would not have been able to fully complete the restoration project to preserve this historical icon in the community."

In Economic Action Plan 2012, the Harper Government announced further support to help communities across the country modernize their infrastructure. Our Government committed $150 million over two years for the Fund. The Fund supports projects that look to improve existing community infrastructure accessible for use by the public, such as community centres, recreational buildings, local arenas, cultural and other community facilities.

Since 2006, the Harper Government, through WD, has invested in job-creating small- and medium-sized businesses, aerospace, marine and defence industries, and supported innovative entrepreneurs in pursuing emerging markets. By continuing to promote new economic opportunities, WD is helping to create jobs, economic growth, and long-term prosperity.

For more information, contact:

Donna Kinley
Regional Communications Manager
Western Economic Diversification Canada
Telephone: 780-495-6892
Email: Donna.Kinley@wd.gc.ca

Keith Vansevenandt
Committee Chair
Paroisse St. Jean Baptiste Parish
Telephone: 780-577-4707
Email : vansevenandt@ya.ca

WD Toll-Free Number:1-888-338-WEST (9378)
Teletypewriter (TTY): 1-877-303-3388
WD Website: www.wd-deo.gc.ca.
Subscribe to our news updates and keep up-to-date on the latest from WD. Follow us on Twitter at @WD_Canada

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Communiqués Archives

Le gouvernement Harper investit dans l’amélioration de l’infrastructure communautaire de Morinville

12 mars 2013
Morinville (Alberta)

Aujourd'hui, Brian Storseth, député fédéral de Westlock—St. Paul, au nom de l'honorable Lynne Yelich, ministre d'État chargée de la Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest canadien, a annoncé un appui à l'intention de la Paroisse St Jean Baptiste Parish dans le cadre du Fonds d'amélioration de l'infrastructure communautaire (FAIC) du gouvernement Harper.

« La Paroisse St Jean Baptiste Parish est considérée comme un trésor communautaire depuis 1907. Elle continue d'attirer des visiteurs à Morinville, tout en constituant un lieu de convergence pour la collectivité locale, a déclaré le député Storseth. L'investissement du Fonds d'amélioration de l'infrastructure communautaire accordé par notre gouvernement pour la préservation de cette église aidera à créer des emplois, à stimuler la croissance et à assurer la prospérité à long terme. »

L'investissement de 250 000 dollars du gouvernement Harper contribue à la remise en état de la Paroisse St Jean Baptiste Parish. La rénovation des tours d'angle, du toit et de la façade en brique aidera ce monument historique à demeurer un legs durable dans la municipalité de Morinville pendant les décennies à venir.

« Nous sommes très reconnaissants au gouvernement fédéral de son appui, a souligné Simonne Chevalier, membre du Parish Finance Committee. Sans cette aide, nous n'aurions jamais pu terminer le projet de restauration qui vise à préserver cet emblème historique de la collectivité. »

Dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique de 2012, le gouvernement Harper a annoncé un soutien supplémentaire pour aider les communautés de partout au Canada à moderniser leur infrastructure. Notre gouvernement a engagé 150 millions de dollars sur deux ans pour le FAIC, qui a comme objectif de soutenir des projets visant à améliorer l'infrastructure communautaire existante accessible au public, comme les centres communautaires, les bâtiments récréatifs, les arénas locaux et les centres culturels ou d'autres installations communautaires.

Depuis 2006, le gouvernement Harper, par le biais de DEO, a investi dans les petites et moyennes entreprises qui créent des emplois et les industries de l'aérospatiale, de la marine et de la défense, et appuyé les entrepreneurs novateurs dans les marchés émergents. En faisant la promotion continue des nouvelles possibilités économiques, DEO stimule la création d'emplois, la croissance économique et la prospérité à long terme.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, communiquez avec :

Donna Kinley
Gestionnaire régionale, Communications
Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Téléphone : 780-495-6892
Courriel : Donna.Kinley@deo.gc.ca

Keith Vansevenandt
Président du comité
Paroisse St Jean Baptiste Parish
Téléphone : 780-577-4707
Courriel : vansevenandt@ya.ca

No sans frais de DEO : 1-888-338-9378
Téléimprimeur (ATS): 1-877-303-3388
Site Web DEO: www.wd-deo.gc.ca.
Inscrivez-vous pour recevoir nos bulletins de nouvelles et vous tenir au courant des dernières activités de DEO. Suivez-nous sur Twitter à @DEO_Canada.