Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

News Release Archives

Harper Government Invests in Improvements to Taber and Vauxhall’s Community Infrastructure

March 12, 2013
Taber, Alberta

Today, LaVar Payne, Member of Parliament for Medicine Hat, on behalf of the Honourable Lynne Yelich, Minister of State for Western Economic Diversification, announced support for upgrades to the Taber and Vauxhall airports under the Harper Government’s Community Infrastructure Improvement Fund (CIIF).

Our Government is committed to creating jobs, growth and long-term prosperity in our communities across Canada,” said MP Payne. “By making these investments in local infrastructure, like the Taber and Vauxhall airports, we are helping boost economic activity and maintain a high quality of life for Canadians.

The Harper Government’s investment of $73,450 will support improvements to both the Taber and Vauxhall airports, including the extension of their aircraft loading and parking areas. The Taber Airport will also receive a new global navigation satellite system, while the Vauxhall Airport’s terminal will undergo repairs. These upgrades will allow both airports to accommodate a wider range of flights and contribute to economic growth in the region.

The Municipal District of Taber is pleased to have received this investment from the Community Improvement Infrastructure Fund to support aviation operations at the Taber and Vauxhall airports,” said Brian Brewin, Reeve for the Municipal District of Taber. “These two airport facilities support air medevac, private and corporate aviation activities and aerial spray operations that provide a critical link in agricultural crop production and pest management.

In Economic Action Plan 2012, the Harper Government announced further support to help communities across the country modernize their infrastructure. Our Government committed $150 million over two years for the Fund. The Fund supports projects that look to improve existing community infrastructure accessible for use by the public, such as community centres, recreational buildings, local arenas, cultural and other community facilities.

Since 2006, the Harper Government, through WD, has invested in job-creating small- and medium-sized businesses, aerospace, marine and defence industries, and supported innovative entrepreneurs in pursuing emerging markets. By continuing to promote new economic opportunities, WD is helping to create jobs, economic growth, and long-term prosperity.

For more information, contact:

Donna Kinley
Regional Communications Manager
Western Economic Diversification Canada
Telephone: 780-495-6892
Email: Donna.Kinley@wd.gc.ca

Derrick Krizsan
Chief Administrative Officer
Municipal District of Taber
Telephone: 403-223-3541
Email: DKrizsan@mdtaber.ab.ca

WD Toll-Free Number:1-888-338-WEST (9378)
Teletypewriter (TTY): 1-877-303-3388
WD Website: www.wd-deo.gc.ca.
Subscribe to our news updates and keep up-to-date on the latest from WD. Follow us on Twitter at @WD_Canada

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Communiqués Archives

Le gouvernement Harper investit dans l’amélioration de l’infrastructure communautaire de Taber et de Vauxhall

12 mars 2013
Taber (Alberta)

Aujourd’hui, LaVar Payne, député fédéral de Medicine Hat, au nom de l’honorable Lynne Yelich, ministre d’État chargée de la Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest canadien, a annoncé un appui pour les aéroports de Taber et de Vauxhall dans le cadre du Fonds d’amélioration de l’infrastructure communautaire (FAIC) du gouvernement Harper.

« Notre gouvernement s’est engagé à créer des emplois, à stimuler la croissance et à assurer la prospérité à long terme dans les collectivités de l’ensemble du Canada, a déclaré le député Payne. En investissant dans l’infrastructure locale, tels les aéroports de Taber et de Vauxhall, nous stimulons l’activité économique et aidons la population canadienne à continuer de jouir d’une bonne qualité de vie. »

L’investissement de 73 450 dollars du gouvernement Harper servira à apporter des améliorations dans les aéroports de Taber et de Vauxhall, y compris dans leurs zones de chargement et de stationnement d’aéronefs respectives. L’aéroport de Taber sera équipé d’un nouveau système mondial de satellites de navigation tandis que le terminal de l’aéroport de Vauxhall fera l’objet de réparations. Ces améliorations permettront aux deux aéroports d’accueillir un plus large éventail de vols et contribueront à la croissance économique de la région.

« Le district municipal de Taber se félicite de recevoir la contribution du Fonds d’amélioration de l’infrastructure communautaire, qui permettra aux aéroports de Taber et de Vauxhall d’accomplir leurs activités aéronautiques encore plus efficacement, a indiqué Brian Brewin, président du conseil municipal du district municipal de Taber. Ces deux aéroports assurent des services ambulanciers aériens et des services de transport aérien privé et commercial ainsi que des activités d’épandage aérien qui leur font jouer un rôle très important dans la production agricole et la lutte contre les ravageurs. »

Dans le cadre du Plan d’action économique de 2012, le gouvernement Harper a annoncé un soutien supplémentaire pour aider les communautés de partout au Canada à moderniser leur infrastructure. Notre gouvernement a engagé 150 millions de dollars sur deux ans pour le FAIC, qui a comme objectif de soutenir des projets visant à améliorer l’infrastructure communautaire existante accessible au public, comme les centres communautaires, les bâtiments récréatifs, les arénas locaux et les centres culturels ou d’autres installations communautaires.

Depuis 2006, le gouvernement Harper, par le biais de DEO, a investi dans les petites et moyennes entreprises qui créent des emplois et les industries de l’aérospatiale, de la marine et de la défense, et appuyé les entrepreneurs novateurs dans les marchés émergents. En faisant la promotion continue des nouvelles possibilités économiques, DEO stimule la création d’emplois, la croissance économique et la prospérité à long terme.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, communiquez avec :

Donna Kinley
Gestionnaire régionale, Communications
Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada
Téléphone : 780-495-6892
Courriel : Donna.Kinley@deo.gc.ca

Derrick Krizsan
Directeur municipal
District municipal de Taber
Téléphone : 403-223-3541
Courriel : DKrizsan@mdtaber.ab.ca

No sans frais de DEO : 1-888-338-9378
Téléimprimeur (ATS): 1-877-303-3388
Site Web DEO: www.wd-deo.gc.ca.
Inscrivez-vous pour recevoir nos bulletins de nouvelles et vous tenir au courant des dernières activités de DEO. Suivez-nous sur Twitter à @DEO_Canada.