Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

News Release Archives

Harper Government Invests in Improvements to Scandia’s Community Infrastructure

March 12, 2013
Scandia, Alberta

Today, LaVar Payne, Member of Parliament for Medicine Hat, on behalf of the Honourable Lynne Yelich, Minister of State for Western Economic Diversification, announced support for upgrades to the E.I.D. Historical Park in Scandia under the Harper Government's Community Infrastructure Improvement Fund (CIIF).

"Our Government is pleased to support infrastructure projects across the country like the E.I.D. Historical Park upgrades," said MP Payne. "The Community Infrastructure Improvement Fund will benefit Canadian families and communities immediately, helping to support job creation, boosting economic activity, as well as creating safe and accessible community infrastructure facilities for years to come."

The Harper Government's investment of $65,490 will support renovations to the E.I.D. Historical Park's CPR station master building. This investment will support numerous interior and exterior upgrades, including the creation of a theatre and installation of interactive displays. These improvements will result in a better educational experience for visitors and will help increase tourism in the area.

"The E.I.D. Historical Park in Scandia is grateful for the support from the Community Infrastructure Improvement Fund," said Rosalind VanHal, President of the E.I.D. Historical Park. "Our community appreciates the opportunity to use these funds to complete our CPR project in the Park. Scandia has a wealth of volunteers whose enthusiasm coupled with monetary support makes the dreams of small communities like Scandia come to life. Thank-you for providing the funds to make these dreams a reality."

In Economic Action Plan 2012, the Harper Government announced further support to help communities across the country modernize their infrastructure. Our Government committed $150 million over two years for the Fund. The Fund supports projects that look to improve existing community infrastructure accessible for use by the public, such as community centres, recreational buildings, local arenas, cultural and other community facilities.

Since 2006, the Harper Government, through WD, has invested in job-creating small- and medium-sized businesses, aerospace, marine and defence industries, and supported innovative entrepreneurs in pursuing emerging markets. By continuing to promote new economic opportunities, WD is helping to create jobs, economic growth, and long-term prosperity.

For more information, contact:

Donna Kinley
Regional Communications Manager
Western Economic Diversification Canada
Telephone: 780-495-6892
Email: Donna.Kinley@wd.gc.ca

Rosalind VanHal
E.I.D. Historical Park
Telephone: 403-362-7592
Email: rrvanhal@xplornet.com

WD Toll-Free Number:1-888-338-WEST (9378)
Teletypewriter (TTY): 1-877-303-3388
WD Website: www.wd-deo.gc.ca.
Subscribe to our news updates and keep up-to-date on the latest from WD. Follow us on Twitter at @WD_Canada

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Communiqués Archives

Le gouvernement Harper investit dans l’amélioration de l’infrastructure communautaire de Scandia

12 mars 2013
Scandia (Alberta)

Aujourd'hui, LaVar Payne, député fédéral de Medicine Hat, au nom de l'honorable Lynne Yelich, ministre d'État chargée de la Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest canadien, a annoncé un soutien accordé au parc historique E.I.D. de Scandia dans le cadre du Fonds d'amélioration de l'infrastructure communautaire (FAIC) du gouvernement Harper.

« Notre gouvernement est heureux de soutenir les projets d'infrastructure lancés un peu partout au pays, comme le projet d'amélioration du parc historique E.I.D., a expliqué le député Payne. Nos investissements dans l'infrastructure profiteront immédiatement aux familles et aux collectivités canadiennes, en plus de favoriser la création d'emplois, de stimuler l'économie et de laisser un patrimoine durable aux générations futures sous la forme d'installations communautaires sûres et accessibles. »

L'investissement de 65 490 dollars du gouvernement Harper permettra de rénover le bâtiment du chef de la gare de la CFCP au parc historique. Avec cet investissement, il sera possible d'apporter de nombreuses améliorations intérieures et extérieures et d'installer notamment une scène et des expositions interactives. Ces améliorations renforceront l'expérience éducative des visiteurs et attireront davantage de touristes dans la région.

« Le parc historique E.I.D. de Scandia est très reconnaissant du soutien accordé dans le cadre du FAIC, a déclaré Rosalind VanHal, présidente du parc. Notre communauté est heureuse d'avoir la possibilité de réaliser son projet de gare ferroviaire pour le parc. Scandia compte un grand nombre de bénévoles dont l'enthousiasme, quand il s'accompagne d'un soutien financier, permet de transformer les rêves en réalité. Merci de nous accorder ce soutien financier. »

Dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique de 2012, le gouvernement Harper a annoncé un soutien supplémentaire pour aider les communautés de partout au Canada à moderniser leur infrastructure. Notre gouvernement a engagé 150 millions de dollars sur deux ans pour le FAIC, qui a comme objectif de soutenir des projets visant à améliorer l'infrastructure communautaire existante accessible au public, comme les centres communautaires, les bâtiments récréatifs, les arénas locaux et les centres culturels ou d'autres installations communautaires.

Depuis 2006, le gouvernement Harper, par le biais de DEO, a investi dans les petites et moyennes entreprises qui créent des emplois et les industries de l'aérospatiale, de la marine et de la défense, et appuyé les entrepreneurs novateurs dans les marchés émergents. En faisant la promotion continue des nouvelles possibilités économiques, DEO stimule la création d'emplois, la croissance économique et la prospérité à long terme.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, communiquez avec :

Donna Kinley
Gestionnaire régionale des communications
Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Téléphone : 780-495-6892
Courriel : Donna.Kinley@deo.gc.ca

Rosalind VanHal
Présidente
Parc historique E.I.D.
Téléphone : 403-362-7592
Courriel : rrvanhal@xplornet.com

No sans frais de DEO : 1-888-338-9378
Téléimprimeur (ATS): 1-877-303-3388
Site Web DEO: www.wd-deo.gc.ca.
Inscrivez-vous pour recevoir nos bulletins de nouvelles et vous tenir au courant des dernières activités de DEO. Suivez-nous sur Twitter à @DEO_Canada.