Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

News Release Archives

Harper Government Strengthens Training for Mining Sector in British Columbia

March 09, 2013
Cranbrook, British Columbia
Minister Yelich announces $1.7 million in WDP funding for the College of the Rockies.

Minister Yelich announces $1.7 million in WDP funding for the College of the Rockies.

Training for jobs in the mining sector will be easier, thanks to federal funding announced today by the Honourable Lynne Yelich, Minister of State for Western Economic Diversification.

"Our Government’s top priority is creating jobs, economic growth and long-term prosperity,” said Minister Yelich. “This investment will help to increase the number of skilled Canadian workers available to western Canada’s booming mining sector.

Federal funding of more than $1.7 million will allow the College of the Rockies to acquire haul-truck training simulators which will train entry-level workers in the mining sector. A total of five simulators will be purchased and used for training at several of the College’s campuses. Compared to training on an actual machine, simulation-based training allows students to engage in maneuvers or operational situations that may be dangerous to perform.

The mining industry plays an integral part in British Columbia’s economy,” said David Wilks, Member of Parliament of Kootenay—Columbia, who joined Minister Yelich for today’s announcement. “Our Government’s support for the College of the Rockies will help our region take advantage of the opportunities and jobs in the mining sector so our region can thrive.

This significant investment by the Government of Canada will go a long way in allowing College of the Rockies to continue to play a vital role in preparing skilled workers to support our economy and communities,” said Dr. Nick Rubidge, President and CEO, College of the Rockies. “We greatly thank the federal government for this major investment which will provide our students with state-of-the-art technology and skills training that is aligned with the needs of our regional mining industry and beyond.

Since 2006, the Harper Government, through WD, has invested in job-creating small- and medium-sized businesses, aerospace, marine and defence industries, and supported innovative entrepreneurs in pursuing emerging markets. By continuing to promote new economic opportunities, WD is helping to create jobs, economic growth, and long-term prosperity.

For additional information, contact (media only):

Jerra Kosick
Office of the Minister
Western Economic Diversification
Telephone: 613-954-8097
Email: jerra.kosick@wd-deo.gc.ca

Donna Kraus-Hagerman
Executive Director, College Relations and Marketing
College of the Rockies
Telephone: 250-489-8258
Email: kraus-hagerman@cotr.bc.ca

WD Toll-Free Number:1-888-338-WEST (9378)
Teletypewriter (TTY): 1-877-303-3388
WD Website: www.wd-deo.gc.ca.
Subscribe to our news updates and keep up-to-date on the latest from WD. Follow us on Twitter at @WD_Canada

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Communiqués Archives

Le gouvernement Harper donne un nouvel élan à la formation minière en Colombie-Britannique

9 mars 2013
Cranbrook (Colombie-Britannique)
La ministre Yelich annonce une contribution de 1,7 million de dollars pour le College of the Rockies dans le cadre du PDEO.

La ministre Yelich annonce une contribution de 1,7 million de dollars pour le College of the Rockies dans le cadre du PDEO.

La formation nécessaire pour travailler dans le secteur minier sera désormais plus accessible, grâce à une contribution fédérale annoncée aujourd’hui par l’honorable Lynne Yelich, ministre d’État chargée de la Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest canadien.

« La priorité de notre gouvernement est de créer des emplois, de stimuler la croissance économique et de soutenir la prospérité à long terme, a déclaré la ministre Yelich. Cet investissement contribuera à augmenter le nombre de travailleurs canadiens qualifiés disponibles pour répondre aux demandes croissantes du secteur minier de l’Ouest canadien, qui est en plein essor. »

La contribution fédérale de plus de 1,7 million de dollars permettra au College of the Rockies d’acquérir des simulateurs de chariot de transport pour former et lancer sur le marché de l’emploi de nouveaux travailleurs spécialisés dans le secteur minier. Le collège achètera au total cinq simulateurs de formation, lesquels seront utilisés à plusieurs des campus du collège. Comparativement à une formation sur un équipement réel, la formation sur simulateur permet aux étudiants d’expérimenter des manœuvres et des situations opérationnelles potentiellement dangereuses.

« L’industrie minière fait partie intégrante de l’économie de la Colombie-Britannique, a indiqué David Wilks, député fédéral de Kootenay–Columbia, qui s’est joint à la ministre Yelich pour l’annonce d’aujourd’hui. Le soutien de notre gouvernement au College of the Rockies aidera notre région à tirer parti des possibilités et des emplois offerts par le secteur minier, et ainsi à prospérer. »

« Cette contribution majeure du gouvernement du Canada contribuera de manière incroyable aux activités futures du College of the Rockies, lui permettant de continuer à jouer un rôle essentiel dans la formation de travailleurs qualifiés en appui à notre économie et à nos collectivités, a mentionné Nick Rubidge, président et directeur du College of the Rockies. Nous remercions sincèrement le gouvernement fédéral de cet appui important qui donnera à nos étudiants accès à une formation en technologie d’avant-garde, axée sur les compétences et qui répond aux demandes de l’industrie minière de notre région et d’ailleurs. »

Depuis 2006, le gouvernement Harper, par le biais de DEO, a investi dans les petites et moyennes entreprises qui créent des emplois et les industries de l’aérospatiale, de la marine et de la défense, et appuyé les entrepreneurs novateurs dans les marchés émergents. En faisant la promotion continue des nouvelles possibilités économiques, DEO stimule la création d’emplois, la croissance économique et la prospérité à long terme.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements (médias seulement), communiquez avec :

Jerra Kosick
Cabinet de la ministre
Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada
Téléphone : 613-954-8097
Courriel : jerra.kosick@wd-deo.gc.ca

Donna Kraus-Hagerman
Directrice générale, Relations externes et Marketing
College of the Rockies
Téléphone : 250-489-8258
Courriel : kraus-hagerman@cotr.bc.ca

No sans frais de DEO : 1-888-338-9378
Téléimprimeur (ATS): 1-877-303-3388
Site Web DEO: www.wd-deo.gc.ca.
Inscrivez-vous pour recevoir nos bulletins de nouvelles et vous tenir au courant des dernières activités de DEO. Suivez-nous sur Twitter à @DEO_Canada.