Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

News Release Archives

Harper Government Invests in Improvements to Winfield's Community Infrastructure

March 08, 2013
Winfield, Alberta

Today, Blaine Calkins, Member of Parliament for Wetaskiwin, on behalf of the Honourable Lynne Yelich, Minister of State for Western Economic Diversification, announced support for the Winfield Agriplex Arena under the Harper Government's Community Infrastructure Improvement Fund (CIIF).

"The Winfield Agriplex Arena is used by many local residents of all ages," said MP Calkins. "I am pleased that our Government is investing in the Arena which will help improve the player and spectator experience at the facility, and contribute to our community's long-term growth and prosperity."

The Harper Government's investment of $50,000 will support the replacement of arena bleachers in the Winfield Agriplex. This improvement will create a more comfortable environment for users and increase the number of visitors to the arena for years to come.

"The County of Wetaskiwin is sincerely appreciative of the programs provided by the Government of Canada which allows rural municipalities to share the significant costs of maintaining or improving local infrastructure," said Garry Dearing, Reeve of the County of Wetaskiwin No. 10. "We are grateful to MP Blaine Calkins for his support for projects in the County of Wetaskiwin. With the funding of this project we are ensuring the viability of this small community as the Winfield Agriplex is the centerpiece for community economic activity and the cultural core of the hamlet."

In Economic Action Plan 2012, the Harper Government announced further support to help communities across the country modernize their infrastructure. Our Government committed $150 million over two years for the Fund. The Fund supports projects that look to improve existing community infrastructure accessible for use by the public, such as community centres, recreational buildings, local arenas, cultural and other community facilities.

Since 2006, the Harper Government, through WD, has invested in job-creating small- and medium-sized businesses, aerospace, marine and defence industries, and supported innovative entrepreneurs in pursuing emerging markets. By continuing to promote new economic opportunities, WD is helping to create jobs, economic growth, and long-term prosperity.

For more information, contact:

Donna Kinley
Regional Communications Manager
Western Economic Diversification Canada
Telephone: 780-495-6892
Email: Donna.Kinley@wd.gc.ca

Frank Coutney
Chief Administrative Officer
County of Wetaskiwin No. 10
Telephone: 780-361-6223
Email: fcoutney@county.wetaskiwin.ab.ca

WD Toll-Free Number:1-888-338-WEST (9378)
Teletypewriter (TTY): 1-877-303-3388
WD Website: www.wd-deo.gc.ca.
Subscribe to our news updates and keep up-to-date on the latest from WD. Follow us on Twitter at @WD_Canada

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Communiqués Archives

Le gouvernement Harper investit dans l'amélioration de l'infrastructure communautaire de Winfield

8 mars 2013
Winfield (Alberta)

Aujourd'hui, Blaine Calkins, député fédéral de Wetaskiwin, au nom de l'honorable Lynne Yelich, ministre d'État chargée de la Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest canadien, a annoncé un appui pour l'aréna Agriplex de Winfield dans le cadre du Fonds d'amélioration de l'infrastructure communautaire (FAIC) du gouvernement Harper.

« L'aréna Agriplex de Winfield est fréquenté par de nombreux résidents de la région de tous âges, a déclaré le député Calkins. Je me réjouis de la décision de notre gouvernement d'investir dans l'aréna, car ces travaux amélioreront grandement la qualité des moments passés dans l'installation, tant pour les joueurs que pour les spectateurs, d'autant plus qu'ils contribueront à la croissance et à la prospérité à long terme de la collectivité. »

L'investissement de 50 000 dollars du gouvernement Harper aidera à remplacer les gradins de l'aréna Agriplex de Winfield. Cette amélioration rendra l'endroit plus accueillant et attirera plus de visiteurs dans l'aréna pendant les années à venir.

« Le comté de Wetaskiwin apprécie énormément ces programmes offerts par le gouvernement du Canada qui permettent aux municipalités rurales d'alléger les dépenses importantes que nécessitent l'entretien et l'amélioration de l'infrastructure locale, a souligné Garry Dearing, préfet du comté de Wetaskiwin no 10. Nous remercions le député Blaine Calkins de son appui dans la réalisation des projets du comté de Wetaskiwin. Grâce au financement de ce projet, nous serons en mesure d'assurer la viabilité de cette petite collectivité, dont l'Agriplex de Winfield constitue l'élément central de l'activité économique et le centre culturel du hameau. »

Dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique de 2012, le gouvernement Harper a annoncé un soutien supplémentaire pour aider les communautés de partout au Canada à moderniser leur infrastructure. Notre gouvernement a engagé 150 millions de dollars sur deux ans pour le FAIC, qui a comme objectif de soutenir des projets visant à améliorer l'infrastructure communautaire existante accessible au public, comme les centres communautaires, les bâtiments récréatifs, les arénas locaux et les centres culturels ou d'autres installations communautaires.

Depuis 2006, le gouvernement Harper, par le biais de DEO, a investi dans les petites et moyennes entreprises qui créent des emplois et les industries de l'aérospatiale, de la marine et de la défense, et appuyé les entrepreneurs novateurs dans les marchés émergents. En faisant la promotion continue des nouvelles possibilités économiques, DEO stimule la création d'emplois, la croissance économique et la prospérité à long terme.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, communiquez avec :

Donna Kinley
Gestionnaire régionale, Communications
Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Téléphone : 780-495-6892
Courriel : Donna.Kinley@wd.gc.ca

Frank Coutney
Directeur municipal
Comté de Wetaskiwin no 10
Téléphone : 780-361-6223
Courriel : fcoutney@county.wetaskiwin.ab.ca

No sans frais de DEO : 1-888-338-9378
Téléimprimeur (ATS): 1-877-303-3388
Site Web DEO: www.wd-deo.gc.ca.
Inscrivez-vous pour recevoir nos bulletins de nouvelles et vous tenir au courant des dernières activités de DEO. Suivez-nous sur Twitter à @DEO_Canada.