Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

News Release Archives

Harper Government Invests in Improvements to Buck Lake’s Community Infrastructure

March 08, 2013
Buck Lake, Alberta

Today, Blaine Calkins, Member of Parliament for Wetaskiwin, on behalf of the Honourable Lynne Yelich, Minister of State for Western Economic Diversification, announced support for the Buck Lake Stampede Society under the Harper Government’s Community Infrastructure Improvement Fund (CIIF).

Our Government is pleased to support infrastructure projects across the country, like the Buck Lake Stampede Grounds,” said MP Calkins. “Our Government’s support for local infrastructure will benefit Canadian families and communities immediately, helping to support job creation, boosting economic activity, as well as creating safe and accessible community infrastructure facilities for years to come.

The Harper Government’s investment of $100,000 supports the replacement of bleachers and fencing on the Buck Lake Stampede Grounds. These upgrades will ensure the rodeo grounds remains a safe place for all users while allowing people with limited mobility to access the facility. Further, these improvements will expand the type of venue opportunities that can be hosted at the grounds, thereby enhancing the ability to attract existing and new visitors to the grounds.

The County of Wetaskiwin is sincerely appreciative of the programs provided by the Government of Canada which allow rural municipalities to share the significant costs of maintaining or improving local infrastructure,” said said Garry Dearing, Reeve of the County of Wetaskiwin No. 10. “We are grateful to MP Blaine Calkins for his support for projects in the County of Wetaskiwin. With the funding of the Buck Lake Stampede bleacher replacement we are ensuring the long term and continuing viability of the stampede as a community focal point that perpetually enhances the unique way of life for Buck Lake residents and visitors.

The Buck Lake Stampede Society would like to take this opportunity to thank MP Blaine Calkins, as well as all those involved in the Community Infrastructure Improvement Fund,” said Clay Anderson, President of the Buck Lake Stampede Society. “This will ensure that the Buck Lake Rodeo will be enjoyed for years to come by all spectators, young and old alike, as they will be able to safely and comfortably enjoy all the entertainment that coincides with or western heritage. Thank you again to all those who had a vision to make this project possible.

In Economic Action Plan 2012, the Harper Government announced further support to help communities across the country modernize their infrastructure. Our Government committed $150 million over two years for the Fund. The Fund supports projects that look to improve existing community infrastructure accessible for use by the public, such as community centres, recreational buildings, local arenas, cultural and other community facilities.

Since 2006, the Harper Government, through WD, has invested in job-creating small- and medium-sized businesses, aerospace, marine and defence industries, and supported innovative entrepreneurs in pursuing emerging markets. By continuing to promote new economic opportunities, WD is helping to create jobs, economic growth, and long-term prosperity.

For more information, contact:

Donna Kinley
Regional Communications Manager
Western Economic Diversification Canada
Telephone: 780-495-6892
Email: Donna.Kinley@wd.gc.ca

Clay Anderson
Buck Lake Stampede Society
Telephone: 780-682-2000
Email: canderson@sherrittcoal.com

WD Toll-Free Number:1-888-338-WEST (9378)
Teletypewriter (TTY): 1-877-303-3388
WD Website: www.wd-deo.gc.ca.
Subscribe to our news updates and keep up-to-date on the latest from WD. Follow us on Twitter at @WD_Canada

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Communiqués Archives

Le gouvernement Harper investit dans l’amélioration de l’infrastructure communautaire de Buck Lake

8 mars 2013
Buck Lake (Alberta)

Aujourd’hui, Blaine Calkins, député fédéral de Wetaskiwin, au nom de l’honorable Lynne Yelich, ministre d’État chargée de la Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest canadien, a annoncé un soutien à la Stampede Society de Buck Lake dans le cadre du Fonds d’amélioration de l’infrastructure communautaire (FAIC) du gouvernement Harper.

« Notre gouvernement est heureux de soutenir dans l’ensemble du pays des projets d’infrastructure tels que le projet d’amélioration du terrain de stampede de Buck Lake, a déclaré le député Calkins. Le soutien de notre gouvernement à l’infrastructure locale apporte des avantages immédiats aux familles et aux collectivités du Canada, car le gouvernement contribue ainsi à la création d’emplois et à la relance de l’activité économique, tout en établissant des infrastructures communautaires sécuritaires et accessibles pour de nombreuses années à venir. »

L’investissement de 100 000 dollars du gouvernement Harper permettra de remplacer les gradins et les clôtures au terrain de stampede de Buck Lake. Ces travaux garantiront que le terrain de rodéo demeure sécuritaire pour l’ensemble de ses usagers, en plus de faciliter l’accès aux installations pour les personnes à mobilité réduite. Le projet élargira en outre la gamme d’événements pouvant y être accueillis, augmentant ainsi la capacité d’attraction des installations auprès de nouveaux visiteurs et des visiteurs actuels.

« Le comté de Wetaskiwin apprécie énormément ces programmes offerts par le gouvernement du Canada qui permettent aux municipalités rurales d’alléger les dépenses importantes que nécessitent l’entretien et l’amélioration de l’infrastructure locale, a souligné Garry Dearing, préfet du comté de Wetaskiwin no 10. Nous sommes reconnaissants au député Blaine Calkins pour son soutien aux projets menés dans le comté de Wetaskiwin. Ce financement accordé pour le remplacement des gradins au terrain de stampede de Buck Lake nous permettra d’assurer la viabilité à long terme du stampede, qui constitue un point central de ralliement pour notre collectivité et qui améliore sans cesse l’expérience du mode de vie unique de Buck Lake, pour les résidents comme pour les visiteurs. »

« La Buck Lake Stampede Society aimerait profiter de cette occasion pour remercier le député Blaine Calkins, ainsi que toutes les personnes qui ont un rôle à jouer dans la mise en œuvre du FAIC, a souligné Clay Anderson, président de la Buck Lake Stampede Society. Ces fonds garantiront que l’ensemble des spectateurs, jeunes et vieux, pourra pendant encore de nombreuses années profiter du rodéo de Buck Lake et participer de manière confortable et sécuritaire à toutes ces activités qui témoignent du patrimoine de l’Ouest canadien. Merci encore une fois à tous ceux et celles dont la vision a rendu ce projet possible. »

Dans le cadre du Plan d’action économique de 2012, le gouvernement Harper a annoncé un soutien supplémentaire pour aider les communautés de partout au Canada à moderniser leur infrastructure. Notre gouvernement a engagé 150 millions de dollars sur deux ans pour le FAIC, qui a comme objectif de soutenir des projets visant à améliorer l’infrastructure communautaire existante accessible au public, comme les centres communautaires, les bâtiments récréatifs, les arénas locaux et les centres culturels ou d’autres installations communautaires.

Depuis 2006, le gouvernement Harper, par le biais de DEO, a investi dans les petites et moyennes entreprises qui créent des emplois et les industries de l’aérospatiale, de la marine et de la défense, et appuyé les entrepreneurs novateurs dans les marchés émergents. En faisant la promotion continue des nouvelles possibilités économiques, DEO stimule la création d’emplois, la croissance économique et la prospérité à long terme.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, communiquez avec :

Donna Kinley
Gestionnaire régionale des communications
Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada
Téléphone : 780-495-6892
Courriel : Donna.Kinley@wd.gc.ca

Clay Anderson
Président
Buck Lake Stampede Society
Téléphone : 780-682-2000
Courriel : canderson@sherrittcoal.com

No sans frais de DEO : 1-888-338-9378
Téléimprimeur (ATS): 1-877-303-3388
Site Web DEO: www.wd-deo.gc.ca.
Inscrivez-vous pour recevoir nos bulletins de nouvelles et vous tenir au courant des dernières activités de DEO. Suivez-nous sur Twitter à @DEO_Canada.