Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Community Economic Development

What is Community Economic Development?

Community economic development (CED) is action by people within a specific geographic community or group of communities to create local economic opportunities and improve quality of life. CED recognizes that local challenges and opportunities are as varied as the individual communities themselves. By using knowledge and resources resident in the community, CED identifies and capitalizes on local opportunities to stimulate economic growth and employment. This can include developing entirely new businesses or industries, adding value to existing sectors, strengthening capacity, and improving local infrastructure to help communities achieve their full economic potential.

What's the WD Connection?

Communities have increased economic opportunities and capacity to respond to challenges, as well as the necessary investments in public infrastructure

Western Economic Diversification Canada (WD) contributes to community economic development in urban centres and rural areas through initiatives that capitalize on opportunities for growth and development, and enable communities to adjust to challenges that hinder competitiveness and quality of life. A significant proportion of WD's community economic development funding stems from our role as the western delivery agent for national programs offered by the federal government such as infrastructure programs. Our priorities in support of community economic development include:

  • Encouraging regional approaches to economic development through partnerships with communities and non-profit organizations,
  • Helping rural communities identify and capitalize on new sources of economic growth and employment,
  • Increasing the capacity of rural communities to undertake value-added processing and encourage new opportunities for skilled employment,
  • Enhancing Aboriginal participation in the economy,
  • Designing and delivering regional and community development programs to help western Canadian communities make a successful transition into the 21st century economy,
  • Revitalizing urban communities by supporting initiatives that undertake inner city renewal, build community capacity, enhance knowledge and skills, and foster economic development, and 
  • Investing in infrastructure to sustain rural and urban communities.

What funding is available?

WD helps increase the viability and diversification of local economies in Western Canada through a variety of programs and services, tailored to the region's own particular strengths, challenges and opportunities.

  • The Canada 150 Community Infrastructure Program is part of Canada 150 Celebrates, the Government of Canada's celebration of our country's 150th anniversary. Through investments in community infrastructure, the Government of Canada will invest in projects that celebrate our shared heritage, create jobs, and improve the quality of life for Canadians.
  • Western Diversification Program is the main program through which WD invests in projects that support our strategic outcomes related to innovation, business development and entrepreneurship, community economic development and policy, advocacy and coordination.
  • Western Canada Business Service Network is a group of several independent organizations that receive funding from WD to provide a range of services to help create and build small businesses across the West. One of the Network partners, Community Futures Development Corporations, also undertakes broad-based community economic development initiatives in rural western communities.

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Croissance économique des collectivités

Qu’est-ce que la croissance économique des collectivités?

Les activités axées sur la croissance économique des collectivités comprennent diverses initiatives de développement économique en vue d’aider les collectivités à moderniser leur économie et à s’ajuster à des circonstances économiques difficiles et en constante évolution. En faisant appel au savoir et aux ressources de la collectivité, ces initiatives permettent de cerner les possibilités locales et s’appuient sur celles-ci pour stimuler la croissance économique et l’emploi. Ces activités comprennent aussi le renforcement de l’infrastructure et des capacités des collectivités en vue de permettre à ces dernières de réaliser leur plein potentiel économique.

Quel est le rôle de DEO?

Les collectivités pourront profiter des débouchés économiques et des investissements dans l'infrastructure publique et auront la capacité de relever les défis

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada (DEO) contribue au développement économique communautaire des milieux urbains et ruraux par la mise en œuvre d'initiatives axées sur les possibilités de croissance et de développement existantes, qui permettent aux collectivités de surmonter les obstacles au maintien de leur compétitivité et de leur qualité de vie. Le rôle que joue DEO comme agent de mise en œuvre des programmes fédéraux dans l'Ouest du pays, y compris les programmes d’infrastructures, compte pour une part importante de l'aide financière apportée par le Ministère au développement économique communautaire.

Quel type de financement est offert?

DEO contribue à accroître la viabilité et la diversification des économies locales de l’Ouest canadien par le biais de divers programmes et services adaptés aux atouts, aux défis et aux possibilités propres aux régions visées.

  • Le Programme d'infrastructure communautaire de Canada 150 s'inscrit dans le cadre des célébrations de Canada 150, que le gouvernement du Canada organise pour souligner le 150e anniversaire de notre pays. Grâce à des investissements dans les infrastructures communautaires, le gouvernement du Canada investira dans des projets qui célèbrent notre héritage commun, créent des emplois et améliorent la qualité de vie des Canadiens.
  • Le Programme de diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest (PDEO) est le principal programme dans le cadre duquel DEO réalise des investissements stratégiques dans des initiatives qui améliorent et renforcent l’économie de l’Ouest canadien. Une aide financière est offerte à des organismes sans but lucratif (p. ex. des universités et autres établissements postsecondaires, des instituts de recherche, des associations industrielles et des organisations autochtones) pour la réalisation de projets qui favorisent l’innovation, l’expansion des entreprises ou la croissance économique des collectivités.
  • Le Réseau de services aux entreprises de l’Ouest canadien regroupe diverses organisations indépendantes financées par DEO dont le but est de fournir une vaste gamme de services et de favoriser la création et l’expansion des petites entreprises dans l’ensemble de l’Ouest. L’un des partenaires du Réseau, les Sociétés d’aide au développement des collectivités, réalise aussi diverses initiatives de développement économique communautaire globales dans des collectivités rurales de l’Ouest.